Montgomery County Minimum Wage Increases on July 1, 2018

Theo tin trong quận Montgomery

Montgomery County Minimum Wage Increases on July 1

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, July 3, 2018 CORRECTION Beginning July 1, the minimum wage increases in Montgomery County. The size of the increase is determined by the number of workers a business employs. The new law states that County businesses with 51 or more employees must pay workers $12.25 per hour. Employers with 50 or fewer workers will be required to pay employees $12 hourly. County Executive Ike Leggett signed Bill 28-17 (Human Rights and Civil Liberties – County Minimum Wage) on November 17, 2017. CPI-W = Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers “It is essential for all employers to ensure workers are paid the legal minimum wage,” said Montgomery County Office of Human Rights Director James Stowe. “We are pleased to work with chambers of commerce, Montgomery County Business Portal and the Maryland Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) to inform and educate area employers to ensure full compliance.” The minimum wage does not apply to employees younger than the age of 19, who work fewer than 20 hours per week. However, an employer may pay a wage equal to 85 percent to employees under the age of 20 years for the first six months that the employee is employed. More information about Bill 28-17 and its amendments can be found at here. More information on the incremental increase here. The Maryland DLLR enforces Montgomery County’s minimum wage law. Release ID: 18-608 Media Contact: Judy Stiles 240-777-6507]]>